If you’ve gotten injured on the job, it is important to know your rights when it comes to worker’s compensation claims in Miami, Florida. If you’ve gotten sick with COVID-19 and believe your illness is connected to your job, you may also have the right to make a worker’s compensation claim to cover your coronavirus treatment and lost wages. Here are ten commonly asked worker’s compensation questions in the era of COVID-19.
- What is worker’s compensation insurance?
Worker’s compensation is an insurance that most companies are required to have to protect the company and employees. If a worker is injured on the job or becomes sick due to conditions of the job, the employee can make a worker’s compensation claim, which can cover the employee’s medical expenses, rehabilitation costs, and pay for all or some of an employee’s lost wages.
- What is covered by worker’s compensation in Miami, Florida?
Under Florida law, workers who are injured on the job can make claims for hospital and medical bills, ambulance rides, lost wages due to missed days at work, and use worker’s compensation insurance to claim disability for a period of time.
- What happens if a person dies due to an injury on the job or workplace related illness?
If your loved one passed away from an injury sustained on the job or dies from an illness contracted at work within one year of contracting the illness or within one year of becoming injured, you may be able to make death benefits claims through worker’s compensation. Death benefits can include up to $7,500 for funeral expenses and up to $150,000 compensation benefits to cover lost wages. The surviving spouse may also be entitled to receive education benefits to help you return to the workforce.
- Can I make a worker’s compensation claim if I get sick with COVID-19 on the job?
Not all people who get sick with COVID-19 can make a worker’s compensation claim. You’ll need to prove that you likely contracted the virus while at work or because of conditions at your job that put you at higher risk of contracting the illness. Certain classes of workers will have an easier time making a worker’s compensation claim related to their job. These groups include healthcare workers, police officers, emergency personnel, and others who may be more likely to make worker’s compensation claims if they become sick with the coronavirus on the job.
- Which companies are required to have worker’s compensation insurance?
A company is required to have worker’s compensation insurance if the company employs more than four people. Construction companies are required to have worker’s compensation coverage for all workers, and some industries may require worker’s compensation regardless of how many people are hired. Are you not sure whether you are covered? Consider reaching out to the worker’s compensation law firm in Miami, Florida at Mario Trespalacios, P.A. today.
- What is not covered under worker’s compensation?
There are certain situations where a worker may not be covered under worker’s compensation. If you are intoxicated on the job, if you get into a workplace fight, if you are not injured on the job and are trying to make a claim for off-duty injuries, or if you intentionally hurt yourself on the job, worker’s compensation won’t cover these injuries.
- What should I do if I’m injured at work or think I contracted COVID-19 on the job?
Report the situation to your employer right away. Your employer can provide you instructions regarding seeking medical care and regarding making a worker’s compensation claim. If you are having trouble making a worker’s compensation claim or if your employer is refusing to make a claim, reach out to the worker’s compensation lawyer at Mario Trespalacios, P.A. in Miami, Florida today.
- How long do I have to file a worker’s compensation claim?
Under Florida law, you may have up to two years to make a claim, but you should make a claim as soon as possible. Some extensions to the claim process may be permitted if you were misled by your employer about coverage, if the insurance didn’t properly inform you of your rights, or if you were injured as a minor or deemed mentally incompetent.
- How can I appeal a denied claim?
You can appeal a denied claim. A claim denial is not always the last word. You can formally appeal the denial by writing to the insurance company or by making a complaint with the government. Mario Trespalacios, P.A. is a worker’s compensation insurance claim denial law firm in Miami, Florida that may be able to help you.
- Do I need a worker’s compensation lawyer?
If your claim has been denied, delayed, or if your employer is telling you are not covered under Florida’s worker’s compensation, you may want to consider speaking to a worker’s compensation law firm. Mario Trespalacios, P.A. is a worker’s compensation law firm in Miami, Florida that may be able to help you. Contact our worker’s compensation attorney today or reach out to USAttorneys.com to get matched with our worker’s compensation law firm.